Better Governance for Wales White Paper Committee

Minutes BGW2 073-05(mins)

Meeting date: Monday 11 July 2005 Meeting time: 9.15am to 12.30pm

Meeting venue: Committee Room 1, National Assembly for Wales

Assembly Members in Attendance

Assembly Member	Constituency
Lorraine Barrett	Cardiff South and Penarth
Jocelyn Davies	South Wales East
Lord Elis-Thomas (Chair)	Meirionnydd Nant Conwy
Jane Hutt	Vale of Glamorgan
David Melding	South West Central
Kirsty Williams	Brecon and Radnorshire

Others in Attendance

Name	Representing	Agenda item(s)
Jenny Randerson	Chair - Business Committee	2
Roger Sands	Clerk and Chief Executive to the House of Commons	2
Rhodri Morgan AM	First Minister	2
Hugh Rawlings	Director - Local Government, Public Service and Culture Group	
Robert Hazell	Political Commentator	2
Rick Rawlings	Political Commentator	2

Committee Service

Paul Silk	Clerk to the Assembly and to the Committee
Sian Wilkins	Committee Clerk

Item 1: Introduction, Apologies, Substitutions and Declarations of Interest.

- 1.1 Apologies were received from Carl Sargeant.
- 1.2 The minutes of the meetings on Thursday 7th July were agreed as a true record.

Item 2: Better Governance for Wales White Paper

2.1 The Committee considered both the written and oral evidence from the presenters.